Symphonic Band

Eric M. Smedley

Associate Director of Bands
Read More

Spring 2020 Concerts

Tuesday, February 11, 8:00 PM, Musical Arts Center

The Jacobs School of Music Symphonic Band performs major works of the traditional wind band repertoire as well as new compositions by leading composers. Consisting of both graduate and undergraduate music majors, this outstanding ensemble performs three concerts per semester and rehearses daily. A core group is often taken from the membership of the ensemble to form various chamber winds groups.

The band has played under the direction of various guest conductors including Frederick Fennell, Donald Hunsberger, John Whitwell and Ray Cramer; and composers Karel Husa, Warren Benson, Samuel Adler, and Frank Ticheli. The group has premiered works by David DeBoor Canfield, Eric Nathan, Jonathan Newman, and David Reeves. Soloists with the group have included guests or faculty members Kevin Bobo, percussion; Pete Ellefson, trombone; Steve Houghton, percussion; Timothy Noble, baritone voice; John Rommel, trumpet; Timothy Smith, piano; Thomas Walsh, saxophone; and Jonathan Whitaker, trombone.

The Symphonic Band is a major ensemble of the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.


Meeting Times: 2:30-3:45 daily.
Conductor: Eric M. Smedley, Associate Professor of Music (Bands)
Auditions are held at the beginning of each semester.