Department of Strings

Faculty

More than 180 full-time faculty members at the IU Jacobs School of Music include performers, scholars, and teachers of international renown.

NameContact
Stephen Wyrczynski
Stephen Wyrczynski
Professor of Music (Viola); Chair, String Department

swyrczyn@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6587
East Studio Building, JS431

Atar Arad
Atar Arad
Professor of Music (Viola)

aarad@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3646
East Studio Building, JS331

Joshua Bell
Joshua Bell
Senior Lecturer in Music (Violin; Chamber Music)

Sigurbjorn Bernhardsson
Sigurbjorn Bernhardsson
Professor of Practice (Violin, Pacifica Quartet)

bernhars@indiana.edu
East Studio Building, JS221

Bruce Bransby
Bruce Bransby
Professor of Music (Double Bass)

bransby@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1394
East Studio Building, JS321

Emilio Colon
Emilio Colon
Associate Professor of Music (Cello)

ecolon@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6644
East Studio Building, JS225

Jorja Fleezanis
Jorja Fleezanis
Professor of Music (Violin); Henry A. Upper Chair in Orchestral Studies

jfleezan@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3355
East Studio Building, JS307

Mauricio Fuks
Mauricio Fuks
Professor of Music (Violin)

mfuks@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1634
East Studio Building, JS209

Simin Ganatra
Simin Ganatra
Professor of Practice (Violin, Pacifica Quartet)

sganatra@indiana.edu
East Studio Building, JS430

Edward Gazouleas
Edward Gazouleas
Professor of Music (Strings)

edpgazou@indiana.edu
(617) 872-8380
East Studio Building, JS236

Wendy Gillespie
Wendy Gillespie
Professor of Music (Viola da gamba); Chair, Early Music Department

wendygil@indiana.edu
(812) 855-7594
Merrill Hall, MU210

Grigory Kalinovsky
Grigory Kalinovsky
Professor of Music (Violin)

gkalinov@indiana.edu
East Studio Building, JS203

Mark Kaplan
Mark Kaplan
Professor of Music, Violin

mkmk@indiana.edu
(812) 855-3139
East Studio Building, JS228

Alexander Kerr
Alexander Kerr
Linda and Jack Gill Chair in Music; Professor of Music (Violin)

alkerr@indiana.edu
(812) 855-4587
East Studio Building, JS207

Eric Kim
Eric Kim
Professor of Music (Cello)

erikim@indiana.edu
(812) 855-1552
East Studio Building, JS234

Jeewon Lee
Jeewon Lee
Post-Doctoral Scholar, Visiting Assistant Professor (Strings/Collaborative Piano)

Lee895@indiana.edu

Kevork Mardirossian
Kevork Mardirossian
Professor of Music (Violin)

kmardiro@indiana.edu
(812) 855-5494
East Studio Building, JS113

Kurt Muroki
Kurt Muroki
Professor of Music (Double Bass)

kmuroki@indiana.edu
East Studio Building, JS327

Masumi Per Rostad
Masumi Per Rostad
Professor of Practice (Viola, Pacifica Quartet)

rostad@indiana.edu
East Studio Building, JS427

Stanley Ritchie
Stanley Ritchie
Professor of Music (Violin, Early Music)

sritchie@indiana.edu
(812) 855-6735
Merrill Hall, MU115

Peter Stumpf
Peter Stumpf
Professor of Music (Cello)

pstumpf@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8572
East Studio Building, JS326

Joseph Swensen
Joseph Swensen
Professor of Music (Violin)

jswensen@indiana.edu
812-855-9846

Brandon Vamos
Brandon Vamos
Professor of Practice (Cello, Pacifica Quartet)

bvamos@indiana.edu
East Studio Building, JS334

Mimi Zweig
Mimi Zweig
Professor of Music (Violin, Viola); Director, Pre-College Strings

zweig@indiana.edu
(812) 855-8334
Music Addition, MA011