Composition Department

Fantasy for Violin and Piano

Lina Bahn, violin
Paul Barnes, piano

Available on Signals: Instrumental and Electroacoustic Music of Jeffrey Hass (from the IU Marketplace and online retailers)

Loading audio.

View the score


Fantasy for Violin and Piano was written for the 1991 New Music Festival at Washington State University and is dedicated to fellow composer Charles Argersinger. The work sets out in cadenza-like fashion from the start, making equal technical demands on both players. Though quite traditional in its use of arch form, sectionalization and tempo, it exploits many contemporary techniques: players are asked to coordinate unusual rhythmic patterns, color lyrical lines with rapidly repeated notes and tremolos, and make sudden changes in mood.

Return to The Music of Jeffrey Hass