Composition Department

Sonatina - Spring 1967

New Music from Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, Vol. 8
Life Goes On-The Music of Don Freund, Vol. 2

Steven Moeckel, violin
Don Freund, piano

1. Allegretto amabile 

Loading audio.

2. Berceuse 

Loading audio.

3. Finale: Con Spirito 

Loading audio.

View the score


Sonatina -- Spring 1967 is a transcription for violin and piano of a youthful piano sonatina whose sweet melodies and lilting rhythms are still close to the composer's heart. The three short movements (Allegretto amabile, Berceuse, and Finale: Con Spirito) are played with only the briefest pause between them.

 Biography: Steven Moeckel

Steven Moeckel, the son of a violinist mother and violist father, was surrounded by music as a child, so it's no wonder he started playing violin when he was 4 years old. His mom taught him, and two years later, he played his first recital. By the time he was 8, playing violin was second nature.

Born in Germany, Moeckel spent part of his childhood in Florida, when his father taught at Florida State University. They returned to Germany, and young Moeckel put the violin on hold and pursued his second love, singing. He landed a spot in the Vienna Boys Choir, where he spent two years before enrolling at age 14 in the prestigious Mozarteum in Salzburg, Austria.

Armed with his bachelor's degree, Moeckel returned to the United States to study with preeminent violinist Miriam Fried at Indiana University.

His post-graduate resume includes performances throughout the United States and Europe, including on French and Italian television. He has been with the Tucson Symphony Orchestra since being named concertmaster in 2002.

Return to The Music of Don Freund