Organ Department


Join the Alumni Association!

Go to the Jacobs School Alumni site
Indiana Organists United

Established in 2005, Indiana Organists United (or "IOU") was established through the auspices of the Indiana University Alumni Association for the benefit of graduates and students from the organ department.  Through the energy and vision of David K. Lamb (BM/BME '83, MS '85, SME '94, DM '00), IOU has held biennial reunions since 2006 to allow alumni to reconnect with each other and the Bloomington campus.  IOU also established the Oswald Gleason Ragatz Distinguished Alumni Award, bestowed upon two oustanding alumni at each biennial reunion. For more information about IOU and upcoming activities, please click here

Past winners include:

2006: William F. Entriken (BM '71) and Herndon Spillman (MM '68, DM '77)
2008: Peter Richard Conte (Performer's Certificate '84) and Jesse Eschbach (BM '73, MM '75)
2010: George Ritchie (DM '74) and David Schrader (MM '76, DM '87); posthumous award to Michael Farris (MM '85)
2012: William H. Bates (MM '68, DM '78) and Janette Fishell (BM '81, MM '82)
2015: Carla Edwards, Yun Kim and Yoon-Mi Lim, James Melmplichamp

2017: Faith Frees

Faith Frees

Carla Edwards, Yun Kim and Yoon-Mi Lim, and James Mellichamp

Current IOU Officers

President: Patrick Pope (MM '04, DM in progress)
Vice-President: Edie Johnson (MM '98, DM '03)
Secretary: A. Lee Barlow (MM’88)
Past President: Marko Petricic (MM '99, DM '04)
Jacobs School of Music Alumni Board Liaison: David Lamb (BM/BME '83, MS '85, SME '94, DM '00)

2011-13 Board of Directors: Tom Nichols (BME '92); Herndon Spillman (MM’68, DM’77), Wayne Peterson (MM’87)
2012-14 Board of Directors: Aline Otten (BM '83, MM '86), John Simpson (MM '69, DM '93); Christopher Barrett Jennings (BM’02)
2013-15 Board of Directors: Tom Wood (BM '66, MM '68); David Sims (MM’08), Kevin Neel (BM’12)

Organ Professors at IU

The first degree in organ performance was awarded in 1943 to Mary L. Christena (who later became Mary Ragatz, wife of Oswald G. Ragatz, professor of organ from 1942-1983).  Since that time, more than 400 students have studied organ in the Jacobs School of Music at the undergraduate and graduate levels.  The legacy of organ graduates at Indiana has come full circle, with "one of our own," Janette Fishell (BM '81, MM '82) serving as department chairperson.  Dr. Fishell follows in the footsteps of distinguished pedagogues who have taught in the department:

George Wilson (19??-1975; Professor Emeritus, 1975)

Oswald G. Ragatz (1942-1983; Professor Emeritus, 1983)

Robert Rayfield (1963-1990; Professor Emeritus, 1990)

Clyde Holloway (1965-1977)

Wilma Jensen (1977-1981)

Larry Smith (1981-2008; Professor Emeritus, 2008)

Marilyn Keiser (1983-2008; Chancellor's Professor Emerita, 2008)

Christopher Young (1991- )

John Schwandt (2002-2006)

Todd Wilson (2008-2009)

Janette Fishell (2008- )

Jeffrey Smith (2009-2011)

Bruce Neswick (2011-2015)

Robert Nicholls (2015-2017)

Michael Boney (2016-2017)

Vincent Carr (2017- )