Department of Bands Faculty

The Marching Hundred

Go to the Web Site

Greetings from the Director

Dear Students, Prospective Students, Distinguished Alumni and Friends:

Welcome to the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music Department of Bands/Wind Conducting website!
By following the various links found on this page you can find information about our undergraduate and graduate offerings at one of the largest and most comprehensive programs in the country.

Warmest Regards,
Stephen Pratt

About Indiana University Bands

The department of bands/wind conducting is an integral part of the IU Jacobs School of Music and holds a distinguished reputation for musical leadership in the wind band field.

The most advanced three wind bands are composed of music majors from all areas of the Jacobs School of Music. The wind bands perform a wide variety of the finest wind literature, including classics of the repertoire, chamber music for winds and contemporary works.

The department is actively involved in commissioning distinguished new literature for the wind band medium. World premieres have included works by composers Robert Beaser, James Beckel, William Bolcom, David Dzubay, Eric Ewazen, Frederick Fox, Don Freund, Bernhard Heiden, Sydney Hodkinson, Jere Hutcheson, David Maslanka, Cindy McTee, Michael Mower, Jonathan Newman, Eugene O'Brien, Joel Puckett, Andrew Rindfleisch, Michael Schelle, Gunther Schuller, Ellen Spokane, Eric Stokley, John Stevens, and John Stout.

Composers who have relatively recently appeared on campus to conduct or supervise their works include Samuel Adler, Warren Benson, Roger Cichy, David Gillingham, Donald Grantham, John Harbison, Karel Husa, David Maslanka, Timothy Mahr, Martin Mailman, Ron Nelson, Jonathan Newman, Anthony Plog, Joel Puckett, Frank Ticheli, and Kevin Walczyk. Guest artists with the bands regularly include world-renowned soloists from the faculty of the Jacobs School of Music and others of international stature.

The Indiana University Department of Bands traces its history back through the founding of the Marching Hundred in 1896 to official University records that indicate a start-up fee in 1832 for a "university band". The Department of Bands is represented by: three music-major Concert Ensembles (Wind Ensemble, Symphonic Band, Concert Band), various small ensembles (taken from the above groups), the All-Campus Band (a non-major band meeting once a week on Monday night), The Marching Hundred, The Big Red Basketball Band and the Crabb Pep Bands (men's and women's soccer, women's volleyball and women's basketball).