Composition Department

Unstrung-Music for Dance (2009)

for processed violin and electronics
Liana Gourdjia, violin

Loading audio.

Program Notes

Unstrung, an abstract work for dance and live processed violin, traces the path of the dancer from confinement to freedom. The work is the fourth collaboration between choreographer Elizabeth Shea and composer Jeffrey Hass.

Violinist Liana Gourdjia has been acclaimed for her "astonishingly pure tone, artistry and bewitching lyricism." At the age of six, Liana appeared on Moscow television as a rising star and has since performed recitals in many prestigious venues throughout Russia including the Great Hall and the Tchaikovsky Hall in Moscow, and the Philharmonic Hall in Saint-Petersburg. When she was thirteen, Liana Gourdjia was invited to perform in the concert series presented at the Olympic Games in Atlanta, and - as a laureate of the "New Names" and Vladimir Spivakov foundations - toured throughout Russia and Europe. Some of her performance highlights included concerts in the Vatican for Pope Jean Paul II, and for Unesco in Paris. Liana Gourdjia became a laureate of the Tchaikovsky International Competition for Young Artists in Sendai (Japan) at the age of fourteen and subsequently appeared numerous times on television and radio programs dedicated to presenting young stars in Russia and Europe. She received an Artist Diploma from the Jacob's School of Music at Indiana University, Bloomington, where she studied with Jaime Laredo.

Return to The Music of Jeffrey Hass