Composition Department

Capriccio (1998)

Corey Cerovsek, violin; Shigeo Neriki, piano

Loading audio.

Available on David Dzubay: Chansons Innocentes (IUSM 13). Also on dancesing in a green bay , Chamber Music of David Dzubay (innova 588, Maria Schleuning, vn; Jo Boatright, pn) (and through online retailers)


This work is dedicated to violinist Corey Cerovsek, whom I have known and admired since our first meeting in a music history class in 1986. 

My Capriccio has many of the standard attributes of other capriccios - contrasting textures and moods, unexpected chromatic twists, repeated sections, and just a certain capricious flow. Alternating between three cadenzas and three allegros, Capriccio is built out of a rather simple theme, which is based on pitches derived from the letters in Corey Cerovsek's name. Initially presented in the first cadenza (with some elaboration), the theme permeates all the other sections, thus the work is a loose set of variations. Despite all the chromatic twists and turns, I am going to still claim that Capriccio is in A minor.

Return to The Music of David Dzubay