Composition Department

ELEGY for solo violin (1979)

Véronique Mathieu, Violin

Elegy [7:08]

Loading audio.


Elegy was commissioned by Lewis Kaplan, the violinist and director of the Aeolian Chamber Players, and was premiered by Mr. Kaplan in 1979 at the Weill Recital Hall in New York. The work is simple and straightforward both in form and tonality and requires no elaborate explanation or programme. Although written in memory of a very dear friend, Elegy can also be viewed as an homage to Béla Bartók, whose ghost haunts every page of the score.

Return to The Music of Claude Baker