Choral Department

Brian Schkeeper

Brian Schkeeper

Doctoral Student
Click to meet our students

Graduate Choral Admissions

Click for application information

Brian Schkeeper is committed to representing a wide spectrum of music from the masterpieces of the Renaissance to performing new and rarely performed works. His 2008-2009 season work included the world premieres of Steven Snethkamp's White Love/Shadow Inversion No.8 as well as Joshua Groffman's The Gaberlunzie Man and Haloes. As founding conductor of The American Choral Scholars, Brian conducted Orlando di Lasso's Lagrime di San Pietro in their debut performance. His preparing of the Piscataway Women's Chorus for the 2007 World Premiere of Blake Henson's Requiem: The Good Fence was hailed as "resounding". Brian is currently completing his Doctorate at Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music and serves as President of Indiana University's chapter of the American Choral Director's Association. Brian is pursuing research on the radio cantatas of Benjamin Britten and the choral music of Dmitri Shostakovich. His upcoming season includes conducting Britten's The World of the Spirit, and serving as assistant conductor for Stravinsky's Les Noces with Indiana University's Contemporary Vocal Ensemble. He will also conduct Schumann's chamber oratorio Der Rose Pilgerfahrt, both Pergolesi's and Alessandro Scarlatti's Stabat Mater and Kodaly's Missa Brevis with The American Choral Scholars. He will also work with the Indiana University Opera Theater's as chorus master for Puccini's La Rondine and assistant chorus master for Gounod's Romeo et Juliette.

Brian has studied with Joseph Flummerfelt, John Nelson, Vance George, Dale Warland, Gary Wedow , Carmen Helena Téllez and Don Moses, and has participated in Masterclasses with Stephan Parkman, Robert Page, Charles Bruffy, Bruce Chamberlain, James Jordan, Weston Noble and Kathy Salzman-Romey. Mr. Schkeeper has also worked under the batons of the world's leading orchestral conductors, including Julius Rudel, Lorin Maazel, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, Charles Dutoit and Pierre Boulez.